Boarding School Atlas

Country guide

Boarding Schools in the United Kingdom


In England, GOV.UK sets out the national curriculum as key stages from Reception (ages 4 to 5) to Year 11 (ages 15 to 16). Boarding schools, whether local-authority maintained or independent, must meet the national minimum standards for boarding schools published by the Department for Education. These standards describe the safeguarding and welfare requirements for children in boarding accommodation. Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland have their own education systems, which this profile does not describe.
Tower Bridge crossing the River Thames in London under a cloudy sky
Destination image. Photo: Dietmar Rabich · CC BY-SA 4.0

Coverage: 130 schools and 131 campuses published so far. Research is substantial for this country but not exhaustive.

Terminology: Year groups in England and Wales (for example Year 9, Sixth Form), different year names in Scotland and Northern Ireland.

Northern Ireland is part of the United Kingdom and is listed here. The Republic of Ireland is listed separately.

Country notes reviewed 17 October 2026.

How boarding works in United Kingdom

Year groups and key stages (England)

As published by GOV.UK on 2026-10-17: Reception is ages 4 to 5, Key Stage 1 covers Years 1-2, Key Stage 2 Years 3-6, Key Stage 3 Years 7-9 and Key Stage 4 Years 10-11 (ages 15 to 16). Pupils' ages therefore map to year groups rather than grades. official source

National minimum standards for boarding

GOV.UK describes the national minimum standards as the standards boarding schools must meet to safeguard and protect the children in their care, applying to maintained and independent schools that provide accommodation for children. The page's update history refers to Ofsted inspections against the standards. Check the official page for the current version. official source

Child Student visa (ages 4 to 17)

As published by GOV.UK on 2026-10-17: applicants must be aged 4 to 17, hold an unconditional offer from a licensed Child Student sponsor, have a suitable place to live in the UK and enough money. Study at an independent school is permitted; a further or higher education institution is not. Applicants need parental or legal guardian consent to study and live in the UK, and a parent who wants to accompany the child must apply for a separate Parent of a Child Student visa. The page does not give further guardianship detail; check it before applying, as it does not guarantee a visa or place. official source

Nations with schools

Schools

131 campuses from 130 schools, listed A to Z by school name. Paid placements are labelled and never change this order.

Only places with published listings are offered.

Advanced filters

Original currency only; no conversion. Schools without a calculable annual figure are not shown.

Also require
Clear all
  1. Eton College logo

    Eton College

    Windsor, Berkshire, England

    • Research checked

    Independent boys' boarding school at Windsor, Berkshire, where boys live in small boarding houses and enter at Year 9 (13+) or in the Sixth Form (16+).

    Boarding
    Full boarding
    Boarding entry
    Year 9 (13+) and Sixth Form (16+) entry.
    School
    Boys
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent · Ages taught: Year 9 (13+); Sixth Form Entry (16+) (ages 13 and over)

    Annual boarding fee

    £65,673 per year

    boarding (pattern not named). 2026-27. Tuition and boarding, term fee × 3 terms stated by the school.

  2. Felsted School

    Felsted, Essex, England

    • Research checked

    Independent co-educational school in north Essex for ages three to eighteen, with boarding options from the prep years (Years 5 to 8) and in the senior school.

    Boarding
    Full boarding, Weekly boarding, Flexible boarding
    Boarding entry
    Prep boarding in Years 5 to 8; Senior school ages 13-18 with Contemporary (3 nights), Weekly (5 nights) and Traditional (7 nights) boarding.
    School
    Co-educational, day places
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent · Ages taught: Prep boarding Years 5 to 8 (ages 3 to 18)

    Boarding fee

    £13,070 to £19,225 per term

    full boarding. 2026-27. Range across the year groups the school lists.

  3. Fettes College, Fettes College (Senior School)

    Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, Scotland

    • Research checked

    An independent day and boarding school in Edinburgh with a Prep School for ages 7-13 and a Senior School for ages 13-18. The senior school describes itself as full…

    Boarding
    Full boarding
    Boarding entry
    Pupils are accepted at ages 13, 14 and 16 in the Senior School (Year 9, 10 and 12). (ages 13 and over)
    School
    Not confirmed, day places
    Curriculum
    A Levels, IB Diploma Programme

    Independent · Ages taught: Year 9, 10 and 12 entry points (ages 13 to 18)

    Boarding fee

    £18,850 per term

    full boarding. 2026-27. Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  4. Fettes College, Fettes Prep

    Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, Scotland

    • Research checked

    An independent day and boarding school in Edinburgh with a Prep School for ages 7-13 and a Senior School for ages 13-18. The senior school describes itself as full…

    Boarding
    Offered (type not named)
    Boarding entry
    Boarding houses welcome every child aged 7 to 13. (ages 7 to 13)
    School
    Not confirmed, day places
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent · Ages taught: Pre-Prep ages 5-7 and Prep ages 7-13; boarding houses welcome children aged 7 to 13.

    Boarding fee

    £12,950 per term

    boarding (pattern not named). 2026-27. Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  5. Framlingham College logo

    Framlingham College

    Framlingham, Suffolk, England

    • Research checked

    Boarding and day school for boys and girls aged 2 to 18 in rural Suffolk, with full, weekly and flexi boarding in the Senior School.

    Boarding
    Full boarding, Weekly boarding, Flexible boarding
    Boarding entry
    Not confirmed
    School
    Co-educational, day places
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent · Ages taught: Boys and girls aged 2 to 18.

    Boarding fee

    £17,480 per term

    full boarding. 2026-27. Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  6. Giggleswick School

    Settle, North Yorkshire, England

    • Research checked

    A co-educational day and boarding school at Giggleswick near Settle, North Yorkshire, with boarding from Year 4 and flexi-boarding options alongside full boarding.

    Boarding
    Full boarding, Weekly boarding, Flexible boarding
    Boarding entry
    Not confirmed
    School
    Co-educational, day places
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent · Ages taught: Years 4 to 13 (boarding); Reception to Year 13 (school)

    Boarding fee

    £10,155 to £15,710 per term

    full boarding. 2026-27. Range across the year groups the school lists.

  7. Glenalmond College logo

    Glenalmond College

    Perth, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

    • Research checked

    An independent boarding and day school on a 300-acre campus at Glenalmond in Perthshire, Scotland, for pupils from age 12. More than 80% of pupils board, in five houses…

    Boarding
    Full boarding
    Boarding entry
    Boarding fees are published for Second Form (12+) and for Third Form (13+) to Upper Sixth. (ages 12 and over)
    School
    Co-educational, day places
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent · Ages taught: Second Form (12+), Third Form (13+) to Upper Sixth (ages 12 and over)

    Annual boarding fee

    £36,720 to £57,090 per year

    boarding (pattern not named). 2026-27. Range across the year groups the school lists.

  8. Gordonstoun logo

    Gordonstoun

    Elgin, Moray, Scotland

    • Research checked

    A boarding school on a 200-acre woodland campus near Elgin in Moray, Scotland, with a Prep School and Senior School on the same site. The school describes itself as one…

    Boarding
    Full boarding, Weekly boarding, Flexible boarding
    Boarding entry
    Boarding options for Prep pupils aged 8-13 are full, weekly and flexi (occasional nights); limited weekly boarding places are also available in the Senior School. (ages 8 and over)
    School
    Not confirmed, day places
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent · Ages taught: Prep School and Senior School share one campus; boarders are aged 8-18.

    Annual boarding fee

    Fees not confirmed

  9. Gresham's School logo

    Gresham's School

    Holt, Norfolk, England

    • Research checked

    Co-educational day and boarding school founded in 1555 on a 300 acre estate at Holt, Norfolk, with senior (ages 13-18), prep (ages 7-13) and pre-prep sections.

    Boarding
    Full boarding, Weekly boarding, Flexible boarding
    Boarding entry
    Prep School pupils all have the option to board; flexi boarding can be booked for one to five nights per week.
    School
    Co-educational, day places
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent · Ages taught: Nursery and pre-prep (2-7), prep (7-13), senior (13-18).

    Boarding fee

    £12,730 to £17,560 per term

    full boarding. 2026-27. Range across the year groups the school lists.

  10. Haberdashers' Monmouth Schools logo

    Haberdashers' Monmouth Schools

    Monmouth, Monmouthshire, Wales

    • Research checked

    A group of independent day and boarding schools in Monmouth, Wales, with a Prep School, Senior School and Sixth Form. Boarding is offered as full, weekly and occasional…

    Boarding
    Full boarding, Weekly boarding, Flexible boarding
    Boarding entry
    Boarding categories are full, weekly, occasional and day boarding, Years 3-13; junior boarding in Monnow House runs from Year 3 (age 7) to Year 8 (age 12).
    School
    Not confirmed, day places
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent · Ages taught: Prep School (ages 3-11), Senior School (ages 11-16), Sixth Form (ages 16-18).

    Boarding fee

    £11,772 to £19,155 per term

    full boarding. 2026-27. Range across the year groups the school lists.

  11. Haileybury logo

    Haileybury

    Hertford, Hertfordshire, England

    • Research checked

    Independent co-educational boarding and day school near Hertford, Hertfordshire, for pupils from Year 7 to Year 13.

    Boarding
    Full boarding, Flexible boarding
    Boarding entry
    Boarding from Year 7; Year 7 and 8 boarders live in Highfield House.
    School
    Co-educational, day places
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent · Ages taught: Year 7 (Lower School 1) to Year 13 (Upper Sixth)

    Boarding fee

    £16,055 to £16,650 per term

    flexible boarding. 2026-27. Range across the year groups the school lists.

  12. Harrow School

    Harrow on the Hill, Middlesex, England

    • Research checked

    Independent boys' boarding school on Harrow on the Hill in north-west London, where boys live in one of 12 Houses; entry points are Year 9 and Year 12.

    Boarding
    Full boarding
    Boarding entry
    Year 9 and Year 12 entry.
    School
    Boys
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent · Ages taught: Entry at Year 9 and Year 12

    Boarding fee

    £21,990 per term

    boarding (pattern not named). 2026-27. Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  13. Heathfield School

    Ascot, Berkshire, England

    • Research checked

    Independent school in Ascot, Berkshire, with full, weekly and part-time boarding alongside day places.

    Boarding
    Full boarding, Weekly boarding
    Boarding entry
    Not confirmed
    School
    Not confirmed, day places
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent

    Boarding fee

    £18,720 to £19,153 per term

    full boarding. 2026-27. Range across the year groups the school lists.

  14. Hurstpierpoint College logo

    Hurstpierpoint College

    Hurstpierpoint, West Sussex, England

    • Research checked

    Co-educational day and boarding school for pupils aged 4 to 18 in the West Sussex countryside, with flexi and weekly boarding in the Senior School and Sixth Form.

    Boarding
    Weekly boarding, Flexible boarding
    Boarding entry
    Not confirmed
    School
    Co-educational, day places
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent · Ages taught: Pupils age 4-18.

    Boarding fee

    £16,365 per term

    weekly boarding. 2026-27. Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  15. Kent College Pembury logo

    Kent College Pembury

    Pembury, Kent, England

    • Research checked

    Independent school at Pembury near Tunbridge Wells, Kent, offering full, weekly and flexi boarding from Year 7 alongside day places.

    Boarding
    Full boarding, Weekly boarding, Flexible boarding
    Boarding entry
    We offer students from Year 7 three types of boarding:
    School
    Not confirmed, day places
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent

    Boarding fee

    £18,183 per term

    full boarding. 2026-27. Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  16. Kimbolton School logo

    Kimbolton School

    Kimbolton, Cambridgeshire, England

    • Research checked

    Independent day and boarding school in Kimbolton, Cambridgeshire, with senior school full and weekly boarding.

    Boarding
    Full boarding, Weekly boarding
    Boarding entry
    Not confirmed
    School
    Not confirmed, day places
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent

    Boarding fee

    £15,500 per term

    full boarding. 2026-27. Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  17. King's Bruton logo

    King's Bruton

    Bruton, Somerset, England

    • Research checked

    Co-educational school for ages 13 to 18 in Bruton, Somerset, with three girls' and three boys' houses for boarding and day pupils.

    Boarding
    Flexible boarding
    Boarding entry
    Not confirmed
    School
    Co-educational, day places
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent · Ages taught: Ages 13-18.

    Annual boarding fee

    Fees published, but no boarding total can be calculated from them.

  18. King’s College Taunton logo

    King’s College Taunton

    Taunton, Somerset, England

    • Research checked

    Independent day and boarding school on South Road, Taunton, Somerset; the separate Prep School on Kingston Road is not described here.

    Boarding
    Weekly boarding
    Boarding entry
    Not confirmed
    School
    Not confirmed, day places
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent

    Boarding fee

    £14,370 per term

    weekly boarding. 2026-27. Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  19. King’s Ely

    Ely, Cambridgeshire, England

    • Research checked

    Day and boarding school in Ely, Cambridgeshire, with prep, senior and sixth form boarding.

    Boarding
    Offered (type not named)
    Boarding entry
    Not confirmed
    School
    Not confirmed, day places
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent

    Annual boarding fee

    Fees not confirmed

  20. Kingham Hill School logo

    Kingham Hill School

    Kingham, Oxfordshire, England

    • Research checked

    Independent day and boarding school at Kingham near Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire, with weekly and full boarding.

    Boarding
    Full boarding, Weekly boarding
    Boarding entry
    Not confirmed
    School
    Not confirmed, day places
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent

    Boarding fee

    £12,750 to £16,650 per term

    full boarding. 2026-27. Range across the year groups the school lists.

Missing a school? Submit it for review or report a correction.