Boarding School Atlas

Nation

Boarding Schools in Scotland


10 boarding schools (11 campuses) in Scotland, United Kingdom. Each listing separates ages taught from boarding entry ages, and keeps fees in the school’s own currency.

Counties

Schools

11 campuses from 10 schools, listed A to Z by school name. Paid placements are labelled and never change this order.

Only places with published listings are offered.

Advanced filters

Original currency only; no conversion. Schools without a calculable annual figure are not shown.

Also require
Clear all
  1. Belhaven Hill School logo

    Belhaven Hill School

    Dunbar, East Lothian, Scotland

    • Research checked

    A co-educational prep school in Dunbar, East Lothian, for ages 4-13, with boarding from age 7 on a fortnightly model and day places.

    Boarding
    Full boarding
    Boarding entry
    Children can board from ages 7 to 13; many younger and some older pupils are day children. Taster boarding is offered to day children. (ages 7 and over)
    School
    Co-educational, day places
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent · Ages taught: Reception to Form 1 (ages 4 to 13)

    Annual boarding fee

    Fees not confirmed

  2. Cargilfield School logo

    Cargilfield School

    Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, Scotland

    • Research checked

    An independent prep school in Edinburgh with nursery, pre-prep and upper school sections, offering tailored weekly and flexi boarding in the Upper School alongside day…

    Boarding
    Weekly boarding, Flexible boarding
    Boarding entry
    Boarding charges are published for the Upper School (Form 4 and above).
    School
    Not confirmed, day places
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent · Ages taught: Nursery, Pre-Prep, and Upper School (Form 4 and above); a prep school.

    Annual boarding fee

    Fees published, but no boarding total can be calculated from them.

  3. Dollar Academy logo

    Dollar Academy

    Dollar, Clackmannanshire, Scotland

    • Research checked

    A co-educational independent day and boarding school in Dollar, Clackmannanshire, Scotland, with Prep, Junior and Senior schools. Boarding is offered in three houses…

    Boarding
    Full boarding, Weekly boarding
    Boarding entry
    Not confirmed
    School
    Co-educational, day places
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent · Ages taught: Prep (5-10), Junior (10-12) and Senior (12-18) Schools.

    Annual boarding fee

    £44,154 to £49,536 per year

    full boarding. 2026-27. Range across the year groups the school lists.

  4. Fettes College, Fettes College (Senior School)

    Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, Scotland

    • Research checked

    An independent day and boarding school in Edinburgh with a Prep School for ages 7-13 and a Senior School for ages 13-18. The senior school describes itself as full…

    Boarding
    Full boarding
    Boarding entry
    Pupils are accepted at ages 13, 14 and 16 in the Senior School (Year 9, 10 and 12). (ages 13 and over)
    School
    Not confirmed, day places
    Curriculum
    A Levels, IB Diploma Programme

    Independent · Ages taught: Year 9, 10 and 12 entry points (ages 13 to 18)

    Boarding fee

    £18,850 per term

    full boarding. 2026-27. Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  5. Fettes College, Fettes Prep

    Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, Scotland

    • Research checked

    An independent day and boarding school in Edinburgh with a Prep School for ages 7-13 and a Senior School for ages 13-18. The senior school describes itself as full…

    Boarding
    Offered (type not named)
    Boarding entry
    Boarding houses welcome every child aged 7 to 13. (ages 7 to 13)
    School
    Not confirmed, day places
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent · Ages taught: Pre-Prep ages 5-7 and Prep ages 7-13; boarding houses welcome children aged 7 to 13.

    Boarding fee

    £12,950 per term

    boarding (pattern not named). 2026-27. Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  6. Glenalmond College logo

    Glenalmond College

    Perth, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

    • Research checked

    An independent boarding and day school on a 300-acre campus at Glenalmond in Perthshire, Scotland, for pupils from age 12. More than 80% of pupils board, in five houses…

    Boarding
    Full boarding
    Boarding entry
    Boarding fees are published for Second Form (12+) and for Third Form (13+) to Upper Sixth. (ages 12 and over)
    School
    Co-educational, day places
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent · Ages taught: Second Form (12+), Third Form (13+) to Upper Sixth (ages 12 and over)

    Annual boarding fee

    £36,720 to £57,090 per year

    boarding (pattern not named). 2026-27. Range across the year groups the school lists.

  7. Gordonstoun logo

    Gordonstoun

    Elgin, Moray, Scotland

    • Research checked

    A boarding school on a 200-acre woodland campus near Elgin in Moray, Scotland, with a Prep School and Senior School on the same site. The school describes itself as one…

    Boarding
    Full boarding, Weekly boarding, Flexible boarding
    Boarding entry
    Boarding options for Prep pupils aged 8-13 are full, weekly and flexi (occasional nights); limited weekly boarding places are also available in the Senior School. (ages 8 and over)
    School
    Not confirmed, day places
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent · Ages taught: Prep School and Senior School share one campus; boarders are aged 8-18.

    Annual boarding fee

    Fees not confirmed

  8. Lathallan School logo

    Lathallan School

    Montrose, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

    • Research checked

    An independent day and boarding school in Brotherton Castle, Johnshaven, near Montrose on the Aberdeenshire coast, with nursery, junior and senior sections. Pupils can…

    Boarding
    Full boarding, Weekly boarding, Flexible boarding
    Boarding entry
    Full, flexi and weekly boarding from age 11; boarders live in Brotherton Castle. (ages 11 and over)
    School
    Not confirmed, day places
    Curriculum
    Scottish Highers / National qualifications

    Independent · Ages taught: J1 to S6

    Annual boarding fee

    Fees published, but no boarding total can be calculated from them.

  9. Loretto School

    Musselburgh, East Lothian, Scotland

    • Research checked

    An independent day and boarding school in Musselburgh, East Lothian, near Edinburgh, with pre-school, junior and senior sections. Pupils can board from Year Seven, as…

    Boarding
    Full boarding, Weekly boarding, Flexible boarding
    Boarding entry
    Pupils can board from Year Seven onwards and are allocated to one of five Houses.
    School
    Not confirmed, day places
    Curriculum
    A Levels

    Independent · Non-denominational · Ages taught: Pre-School to Upper Sixth (ages 3 to 18)

    Boarding fee

    £14,000 to £16,967 per term

    full boarding. 2026-27. Range across the year groups the school lists.

  10. St Leonards School logo

    St Leonards School

    St Andrews, Fife, Scotland

    • Research checked

    An independent all-through IB school in St Andrews, Fife, Scotland, with a Junior School and Senior School. Full, weekly and occasional boarding is available from Year 6…

    Boarding
    Full boarding, Weekly boarding, Flexible boarding
    Boarding entry
    Full, flexi and occasional boarders join from age 10 upwards; boarding is available from Year 6. (ages 10 and over)
    School
    Co-educational, day places
    Curriculum
    IB Primary Years Programme, IB Middle Years Programme, IB Diploma…

    Independent · Ages taught: Kindergarten to Year 13

    Annual boarding fee

    Fees not confirmed

  11. Strathallan School

    Perth, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

    • Research checked

    An independent day and boarding school at Forgandenny near Perth, Scotland, with a Prep School and Senior School on a 153-acre campus. Around two thirds of pupils are…

    Boarding
    Offered (type not named)
    Boarding entry
    Boarding fees are published for the Prep School from Year 3 and for the Senior School.
    School
    Co-educational, day places
    Curriculum
    GCSE, A Levels, Scottish Highers / National qualifications

    Independent · Ages taught: Year 1 to Sixth Form

    Boarding fee

    £11,386 to £18,089 per term

    boarding (pattern not named). 2026-27. Range across the year groups the school lists.

Missing a school? Submit it for review or report a correction.