Fettes College
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, Scotland · 2 campuses
An independent day and boarding school in Edinburgh with a Prep School for ages 7-13 and a Senior School for ages 13-18. The senior school describes itself as full boarding and does not offer weekly or flexi boarding.
- Research checked

At a glance
- School type
- Independent · Private
- Official website
- fettes.com
Fettes College (Senior School)
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, Scotland · Carrington Road, Edinburgh, Scotland EH4 1QX
Academic
- Ages taught
- Year 9, 10 and 12 entry points (ages 13 to 18)source
- School admits
- Not confirmed
- Day places
- Yessource
- Curriculum
- A Levels, IB Diploma Programmesource
- Qualifications
- A Levels, International Baccalaureate Diploma Programmesource
- Teaching languages
- ENsource
- Learning support
- Not confirmed
- English-language support
- Not confirmed
- Size
- Not confirmed
Boarding
Full boarding
Pupils live at school during term, including weekends.
- Boarding entry
- Pupils are accepted at ages 13, 14 and 16 in the Senior School (Year 9, 10 and 12). (ages 13 and over)source
- Boarding is for
- Not confirmed
- Accommodation
- On campussource
- Boarding houses
- Day students are integrated into the Boarding Houses.source
- Rooms
- Not confirmed
- Weekends and holidays
- No weekly or flexi boarding in the senior school, so boarders have their friends around them at weekends.source
- Pastoral care
- Every student has a Tutor who meets weekly with their tutees; all teaching staff have a role in the Boarding Houses.source
- Activities
- Not confirmed
- Facilities
- Not confirmed
Admissions
- Entry points
- Ages 13, 14 and 16 in the Senior School (Year 9, 10 and 12); all entry stages in the Pre-Prep and Prep School (5-13).source
- Application process
- Register, then assessments, exams and interviews; timings differ by entry point.source
- Assessments and interviews
- A variety of assessments, exams and interviews.source
- Documents
- Not confirmed
- Language requirements
- Not confirmed
- Deadlines
- Not confirmed
- International applicants
- Accepted. The school attends international school fairs and charges an administrative fee for pupils requiring a UKVI visa.source
- Guardianship
- Not confirmed
Fees
Boarding total per billing period
The school publishes these per term (or similar) and does not say how many periods make a year, so we show the per-period total and calculate no annual figure. Original currency; no conversion.
Full boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · 13-18 Years
£18,850 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
| Fee | Amount | For | Year | Includes tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Fettes College boarders, per term, inclusive of VATFull boarding | £18,850 per termsource | All pupils13-18 Years | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| TuitionFettes College day pupils, per term, inclusive of VATDay pupils | £15,900 per termsource | All pupils13-18 Years | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
“Includes tuition: No” means the figure is a boarding charge on top of tuition. Day-pupil figures are shown for reference only and are never used as a boarding price. Additional costs not listed here may apply; always confirm with the school.
Scholarships and financial assistance
ScholarshipScholarships at 13+ and 16+source
Seven scholarships for 2027 entry; the fees page states scholarships are entirely honorary with no financial benefit.
BursaryMeans-tested bursariessource
Bursaries can cover up to 100% of fees depending on financial circumstances; the deadline for 2027 applications is stated on the bursaries page.
Inspection reports
Education Scotland, 2 September 2025
Outcome as published: Excellent ratings in Curriculum and Raising attainment and achievement; very good ratings in Learning, teaching and assessment and Ensuring wellbeing, equality and inclusion (school's summary of the 2025 inspection).
Read the report
Fettes Prep
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, Scotland · East Fettes Avenue, Edinburgh, Scotland EH4 1DL
Academic
- Ages taught
- Pre-Prep ages 5-7 and Prep ages 7-13; boarding houses welcome children aged 7 to 13.source
- School admits
- Not confirmed
- Day places
- Yessource
- Curriculum
- Not confirmed
- Qualifications
- Not confirmed
- Teaching languages
- ENsource
- Learning support
- Not confirmed
- English-language support
- Not confirmed
- Size
- 25% of Prep pupils are boarders (2026)source
Boarding
The school confirms that it offers boarding but its pages do not name a full, weekly or flexible option, so none is shown.
- Boarding entry
- Boarding houses welcome every child aged 7 to 13. (ages 7 to 13)source
- Boarding is for
- Separate boys’ and girls’ housessource
- Accommodation
- On campussource
- Boarding houses
- Arran (boys) and Iona (girls) boarding houses.source
- Rooms
- Not confirmed
- Weekends and holidays
- Not confirmed
- Pastoral care
- Each house is led by a Houseparent supported by an Assistant Houseparent and matron.source
- Activities
- Not confirmed
- Facilities
- Not confirmed
Admissions
- Entry points
- All entry stages in the Pre-Prep and Prep School (5-13).source
- Application process
- Not confirmed
- Assessments and interviews
- Not confirmed
- Documents
- Not confirmed
- Language requirements
- Not confirmed
- Deadlines
- Not confirmed
- International applicants
- Accepted. The school attends international school fairs and charges an administrative fee for pupils requiring a UKVI visa.source
- Guardianship
- Not confirmed
Fees
Boarding total per billing period
The school publishes these per term (or similar) and does not say how many periods make a year, so we show the per-period total and calculate no annual figure. Original currency; no conversion.
Boarding (pattern not named) · All pupils · 2026-27 · 7-13 Years
£12,950 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
| Fee | Amount | For | Year | Includes tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Fettes Prep boarders, per term, inclusive of VAT | £12,950 per termsource | All pupils7-13 Years | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| TuitionFettes Prep day pupils, per term, inclusive of VATDay pupils | £8,800 per termsource | All pupils7-13 Years | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
“Includes tuition: No” means the figure is a boarding charge on top of tuition. Day-pupil figures are shown for reference only and are never used as a boarding price. Additional costs not listed here may apply; always confirm with the school.
Scholarships and financial assistance
No scholarships or financial assistance are confirmed here. That does not mean none exist: ask the school.
Inspection reports
No inspection report is recorded for this campus in our research yet.
Accreditation, registration and membership
No accreditation, registration or membership is recorded for this school in our research yet.
How to read this page
Every fact links to the page it was read from. “Not confirmed” means we could not find it on an official page; it does not mean the school does not offer it. Research checked describes our own review of official sources and is not an endorsement.
Sources (reviewed 17 October 2026)