Loretto School
An independent day and boarding school in Musselburgh, East Lothian, near Edinburgh, with pre-school, junior and senior sections. Pupils can board from Year Seven, as full, weekly or flexi boarders.
- Research checked

At a glance
- School type
- Independent, Non-denominational · Private
- Official website
- loretto.com
Address: Loretto Senior School, Musselburgh, East Lothian, EH21 7RE
Academic
- Ages taught
- Pre-School to Upper Sixth (ages 3 to 18)source
- School admits
- Not confirmed
- Day places
- Yessource
- Curriculum
- A Levelssource
- Qualifications
- A Levelssource
- Teaching languages
- ENsource
- Learning support
- Not confirmed
- English-language support
- ESL lessons and IELTS preparation classes for international pupils whose first language is not English.source
- Size
- Not confirmed
Boarding
Full boarding
Pupils live at school during term, including weekends.
Weekly boarding
Pupils board from Monday to Friday and go home at weekends.
Flexible boarding
Pupils can board on some nights or for part of the week; the school sets the pattern.
- Boarding entry
- Pupils can board from Year Seven onwards and are allocated to one of five Houses.source
- Boarding is for
- Not confirmed
- Accommodation
- On campussource
- Boarding houses
- Five Houses: Balcarres, Holm, Hope, Pinkie and Schoolhouse (as listed on the contact page).source
- Rooms
- Not confirmed
- Weekends and holidays
- On Saturdays pupils take part in the Enrichment Programme or play sports fixtures; Sundays are relaxed with brunch and optional activities. Weekly boarders stay five nights a week.source
- Pastoral care
- Housemistresses and Housemasters and daily-meeting tutor groups look after pupils; teaching staff take on House duties.source
- Activities
- Not confirmed
- Facilities
- Not confirmed
Admissions
- Entry points
- Not confirmed
- Application process
- Registration form with a £120 registration fee; acceptance deposit once an offer is confirmed.source
- Assessments and interviews
- Not confirmed
- Documents
- A completed registration form and a £120 registration fee.source
- Language requirements
- Not confirmed
- Deadlines
- Not confirmed
- International applicants
- Accepted. Non-British residents need a valid passport and will likely need a Child Student Visa; the school issues the CAS after offer acceptance, medical clearance and appointment of a guardian. Initial meetings and assessments for overseas applicants can be held over video call.source
- Guardianship
- A local guardian is required. International pupils are required to have a UK-based guardian throughout their stay; this can be family or friends nearby or an external agency guardian.source
Fees
Boarding total per billing period
The school publishes these per term (or similar) and does not say how many periods make a year, so we show the per-period total and calculate no annual figure. Original currency; no conversion.
Full boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Y7 and F2
£14,000 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Full boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · F4-U6
£16,967 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Weekly boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Y7 and F2
£12,728 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Weekly boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · F4-U6
£15,617 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Flexible boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Y7 and F2
£11,167 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Flexible boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · F4-U6
£14,267 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
| Fee | Amount | For | Year | Includes tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Full Boarding, Y7 and F2, termly fee (inc. VAT)Full boarding | £14,000 per termsource | All pupilsY7 and F2 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Weekly Boarding, Y7 and F2, termly fee (inc. VAT)Weekly boarding | £12,728 per termsource | All pupilsY7 and F2 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Flexi Boarding (any three nights a week), Y7 and F2, termly fee (inc. VAT)Flexible boarding | £11,167 per termsource | All pupilsY7 and F2 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Full Boarding, F4-U6, termly fee (inc. VAT)Full boarding | £16,967 per termsource | All pupilsF4-U6 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Weekly Boarding, F4-U6, termly fee (inc. VAT)Weekly boarding | £15,617 per termsource | All pupilsF4-U6 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Flexi Boarding (any three nights a week), F4-U6, termly fee (inc. VAT)Flexible boarding | £14,267 per termsource | All pupilsF4-U6 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| TuitionDay fee, F4-U6, termly fee (inc. VAT)Day pupils | £11,567 per termsource | All pupilsF4-U6 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Registration feeRegistration fee (per child, inc. VAT) | £120 one-offsource | All pupils | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Not confirmed |
“Includes tuition: No” means the figure is a boarding charge on top of tuition. Day-pupil figures are shown for reference only and are never used as a boarding price. Additional costs not listed here may apply; always confirm with the school.
Scholarships and financial assistance
ScholarshipScholarships and Exhibitionssource
A Scholarship offers a 10% discount on day fees and an Exhibition 5%; awards for Senior School pupils intending to study at least two years.
Means-tested financial assistanceMeans-tested bursariessource
Awards range from 20% to 100% off day and boarding fees; the maximum for international pupils is 50%. Applications open on August 1 and close on November 1.
Inspection reports
No inspection report is recorded for this campus in our research yet.
Accreditation, registration and membership
The school’s registration or licence with a government authority.
- source
Government registration / licenceOSCR (Scottish Charity Regulator)
Stated by the schoolReference: SC013978Scope: Charity registration number printed in the site footer
Accreditation and membership describe a school’s status with a particular body. Neither is a guarantee of safety, quality or suitability for your child.
How to read this page
Every fact links to the page it was read from. “Not confirmed” means we could not find it on an official page; it does not mean the school does not offer it. Research checked describes our own review of official sources and is not an endorsement.
Sources (reviewed 17 October 2026)