Boarding School Atlas

Independent co-educational boarding and day school near Hertford, Hertfordshire, for pupils from Year 7 to Year 13.

  • Research checked

No licensed photograph of this school is available yet. Photographs are shown only when we hold the rights.

At a glance

School type
Independent · Private
Official website
haileybury.com

Address: Haileybury, Hertford, SG13 7NU

Academic

Ages taught
Year 7 (Lower School 1) to Year 13 (Upper Sixth)source
School admits
Co-educationalsource
Day places
Yessource
Curriculum
Not confirmed
Qualifications
Not confirmed
Teaching languages
ENsource
Learning support
Not confirmed
English-language support
International applicants may be asked to sit the UKiset online test.source
Size
Not confirmed

Boarding

  • Full boarding

    Pupils live at school during term, including weekends.

  • Flexible boarding

    Pupils can board on some nights or for part of the week; the school sets the pattern.

Boarding entry
Boarding from Year 7; Year 7 and 8 boarders live in Highfield House.source
Boarding is for
Separate boys’ and girls’ housessource
Accommodation
On campussource
Boarding houses
13 boarding houses bringing together boarders and day pupils; Highfield House is the Year 7 and 8 boarding house with separate wings for boys and girls.source
Rooms
Not confirmed
Weekends and holidays
Not confirmed
Pastoral care
Not confirmed
Activities
Not confirmed
Facilities
Not confirmed

Admissions

Entry points
Not confirmed
Application process
Not confirmed
Assessments and interviews
Not confirmed
Documents
Not confirmed
Language requirements
Not confirmed
Deadlines
Not confirmed
International applicants
Accepted. Licensed by UKVI to sponsor international pupils for full-time study; day pupils are not sponsored.source
Guardianship
Not confirmed

Fees

Boarding total per billing period

The school publishes these per term (or similar) and does not say how many periods make a year, so we show the per-period total and calculate no annual figure. Original currency; no conversion.

  • Flexible boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Senior

    £16,650 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  • Flexible boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Senior

    £16,055 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  • Boarding (pattern not named) · All pupils · 2026-27 · Lower School

    £12,575 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  • Boarding (pattern not named) · All pupils · 2026-27 · Senior

    £19,820 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

Published fees, exactly as the school states them
FeeAmountForYearIncludes tuition
TuitionSenior Day, inclusive of VATDay pupils£14,345 per termsourceAll pupilsSenior2026-27read 17 October 2026Not confirmed
Tuition and boarding (all-in)Lower School Boarding, inclusive of VAT£12,575 per termsourceAll pupilsLower School2026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
Registration feeRegistration fee, non-refundable£240 one-offsourceAll pupils2026-27read 17 October 2026Not confirmed
DepositAcceptance Deposit for those who live in the United Kingdom, non-refundable£3,000 one-offsourceDomestic pupils2026-27read 17 October 2026Not confirmed
DepositAcceptance Deposit for those who live outside of the United Kingdom, non-refundable£8,000 one-offsourceInternational pupils2026-27read 17 October 2026Not confirmed
Tuition and boarding (all-in)Senior Boarding, fees for 2026-27 inclusive of VAT (annual figure published: £59,460)£19,820 per termsourceAll pupilsSenior2026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
Tuition and boarding (all-in)3-night per week flexi-boarding, Senior, inclusive of VATFlexible boarding£16,650 per termsourceAll pupilsSenior2026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
Tuition and boarding (all-in)2-night per week flexi-boarding, Senior, inclusive of VATFlexible boarding£16,055 per termsourceAll pupilsSenior2026-27read 17 October 2026Yes

“Includes tuition: No” means the figure is a boarding charge on top of tuition. Day-pupil figures are shown for reference only and are never used as a boarding price. Additional costs not listed here may apply; always confirm with the school.

Scholarships and financial assistance

  • BursaryBursariessource

    Financial aid in the form of bursaries for any child with academic potential who could not otherwise attend; a scholarship and bursary can run concurrently.

Inspection reports

  • Independent Schools Inspectorate (ISI)

    Outcome as published: Visited by the Independent Schools Inspectorate in October 2025, Haileybury met all standards in relation to the inspection framework (school's wording).

    Read the report

Accreditation, registration and membership

No accreditation, registration or membership is recorded for this school in our research yet.

How to read this page

Every fact links to the page it was read from. “Not confirmed” means we could not find it on an official page; it does not mean the school does not offer it. Research checked describes our own review of official sources and is not an endorsement.