Boarding School Atlas

Country guide

Boarding Schools in Switzerland


The Swiss education system is described by the Swiss Conference of Cantonal Ministers of Education (EDK), with compulsory education divided into a primary level and a lower secondary level. Rules on entry and stay for non-EU/EFTA students are handled by the State Secretariat for Migration (SEM) and cantonal migration offices. The detailed under-18 permit rules for boarding pupils could not be read from an official page in this session.
The Matterhorn reflected in the still Riffelsee with cotton grass in the foreground
Destination image. Photo: FrDr · CC BY-SA 4.0

Coverage: 31 schools and 31 campuses published so far. Research is substantial for this country but not exhaustive.

Terminology: Varies by school and curriculum.

Country notes reviewed 17 October 2026.

How boarding works in Switzerland

Unaccompanied minors at entry

As published by SEM on 2026-10-17: in principle, entry is possible for unaccompanied minors or minors not travelling with a parent, provided they meet the regular entry requirements, and SEM recommends that such minors carry a declaration of consent from their parents. This is entry guidance, not a statement on residence permits for boarding pupils; check the official page and the cantonal migration office before applying. official source

Cantons with schools

Schools

31 campuses from 31 schools, listed A to Z by school name. Paid placements are labelled and never change this order.

Only places with published listings are offered.

Advanced filters

Original currency only; no conversion. Schools without a calculable annual figure are not shown.

Also require
Clear all
    • Research checked

    Day and boarding school in Chesières with primary, secondary, IB Diploma and high school programmes and several boarding houses.

    Boarding
    Offered (type not named)
    Boarding entry
    Not confirmed
    School
    Not confirmed, day places
    Curriculum
    IB Diploma Programme

    Independent

    Annual boarding fee

    CHF 85,000 to CHF 132,500 per year

    boarding (pattern not named). 2027-28. Range across the year groups the school lists.

  1. Le Régent International School

    Crans-Montana, Valais

    • Research checked

    Day and boarding school in Crans-Montana with a junior boarding house and separate senior houses for boys and girls, teaching towards the IB Diploma.

    Boarding
    Offered (type not named)
    Boarding entry
    Boarding House Bellalui for boarders aged 10 to 12; senior boarding houses Matterhorn (boys) and Monte Rosa (girls). (ages 10 and over)
    School
    Not confirmed, day places
    Curriculum
    IB Diploma Programme

    Independent · Ages taught: Preschool, Junior School and Senior School (Grades 6 to IB2)

    Annual boarding fee

    CHF 86,850 to CHF 119,070 per year

    boarding (pattern not named). 2026-27. Range across the year groups the school lists.

    • Research checked

    Swiss boarding school in Leysin offering a US High School Diploma, the International Baccalaureate and English language acquisition programmes.

    Boarding
    Offered (type not named)
    Boarding entry
    Not confirmed
    School
    Not confirmed
    Curriculum
    IB Diploma Programme, Advanced Placement (AP), US college-preparatory…

    Independent

    Annual boarding fee

    CHF 128,000 per year

    boarding (pattern not named). not stated. Tuition and boarding, published per year.

  2. Lyceum Alpinum Zuoz logo

    Lyceum Alpinum Zuoz

    Zuoz, Graubünden

    • Research checked

    Boarding and day school in the Engadine village of Zuoz for students aged 12 to 19, offering the Swiss Matura, IGCSE and the IB Diploma.

    Boarding
    Offered (type not named)
    Boarding entry
    Ages 12 to 19
    School
    Not confirmed, day places
    Curriculum
    Swiss Matura, IGCSE, IB Diploma Programme

    Independent · Ages taught: Grades 7 – 12

    Annual boarding fee

    CHF 101,100 to CHF 104,900 per year

    boarding (pattern not named). 2026-27. Range across the year groups the school lists.

    • Research checked

    An international day and boarding school in Porrentruy, canton of Jura, with boarding from age 12 and a seven-day boarding fee schedule published for 2026-2027.

    Boarding
    Full boarding, Weekly boarding
    Boarding entry
    Students from 12 years old until graduation from the IB Diploma or Swiss (ages 12 and over)
    School
    Not confirmed, day places
    Curriculum
    IB Diploma Programme

    Independent · International school

    Annual boarding fee

    CHF 87,500 to CHF 92,500 per year

    full boarding. 2026-27. Range across the year groups the school lists.

    • Research checked

    A school in Davos combining Gymnasium, Handelsmittelschule, primary school and a boarding house with boys' and girls' accommodation.

    Boarding
    Offered (type not named)
    Boarding entry
    Not confirmed
    School
    Not confirmed
    Curriculum
    Not confirmed

    Independent

    Annual boarding fee

    CHF 37,737 to CHF 43,597 per year

    boarding (pattern not named). not stated. Range across the year groups the school lists.

    • Research checked

    A co-educational international day and boarding school in Montreux on Lake Geneva with Cambridge IGCSE and IB Diploma programmes and full and weekly boarding from age 10.

    Boarding
    Full boarding, Weekly boarding
    Boarding entry
    we offer weekly and full boarding programmes to boys and girls from 10 to 18 years old (ages 10 to 18)
    School
    Not confirmed, day places
    Curriculum
    IGCSE, IB Diploma Programme

    Independent · International school

    Annual boarding fee

    CHF 76,500 to CHF 97,100 per year

    weekly boarding. 2026-27. Range across the year groups the school lists.

  3. Stiftsschule Einsiedeln logo

    Stiftsschule Einsiedeln

    Einsiedeln, Schwyz

    • Research checked

    Gymnasium organised as a day school with a boarding house in Einsiedeln, offering weekly boarding of three to five nights for girls and boys.

    Boarding
    Weekly boarding, Flexible boarding
    Boarding entry
    Boarding requires admission to the Stiftsschule and an additional boarding registration; at least three nights per week.
    School
    Not confirmed, day places
    Curriculum
    Swiss Matura

    Independent

    Annual boarding fee

    Fees published, but no boarding total can be calculated from them.

  4. Stiftsschule Engelberg

    Engelberg, Obwalden

    • Research checked

    Gymnasium with a boarding house in Engelberg, preparing pupils for the Swiss Matura and the International Baccalaureate.

    Boarding
    Offered (type not named)
    Boarding entry
    Not confirmed
    School
    Not confirmed
    Curriculum
    Swiss Matura, IB Diploma Programme

    Independent

    Annual boarding fee

    CHF 48,500 per year

    boarding (pattern not named). 2026/27. Range across the year groups the school lists.

  5. Surval Montreux logo

    Surval Montreux

    Montreux, Vaud

    • Research checked

    Girls' boarding school above Montreux for ages 12 to 19, following an American High School curriculum with Advanced Placement courses.

    Boarding
    Full boarding
    Boarding entry
    Not confirmed
    School
    Girls
    Curriculum
    US college-preparatory curriculum, Advanced Placement (AP)

    Independent · Ages taught: Grades 8-12

    Annual boarding fee

    CHF 115,000 per year

    full boarding. 2026-27. Tuition and boarding, published per year.

    • Research checked

    American-curriculum school in Montagnola near Lugano with day and boarding students, offering International Baccalaureate and Advanced Placement courses.

    Boarding
    Offered (type not named)
    Boarding entry
    Not confirmed
    School
    Not confirmed, day places
    Curriculum
    IB Diploma Programme, Advanced Placement (AP)

    Independent · Ages taught: Pre-Kindergarten to Grade 12 and PG

    Annual boarding fee

    CHF 106,500 per year

    boarding (pattern not named). 2026-27. Tuition and boarding, published per year.

Missing a school? Submit it for review or report a correction.