Downe House School
Independent boarding and day school for girls aged 11 to 18 at Cold Ash near Thatcham, Berkshire; girls may join as full boarders, flexi boarders or day girls.
- Research checked
No licensed photograph of this school is available yet. Photographs are shown only when we hold the rights.
At a glance
- School type
- Independent · Private
- Official website
- downehouse.net
Address: Cold Ash, Thatcham, Berkshire RG18 9JJ
Academic
Boarding
Full boarding
Pupils live at school during term, including weekends.
Flexible boarding
Pupils can board on some nights or for part of the week; the school sets the pattern.
Admissions
- Entry points
- Not confirmed
- Application process
- Not confirmed
- Assessments and interviews
- Not confirmed
- Documents
- Not confirmed
- Language requirements
- Not confirmed
- Deadlines
- Not confirmed
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
- Guardianship
- Not confirmed
- Apply
- Not confirmed
Fees
Boarding total per billing period
The school publishes these per term (or similar) and does not say how many periods make a year, so we show the per-period total and calculate no annual figure. Original currency; no conversion.
Full boarding · All pupils · 2026-27
£21,076 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Flexible boarding · All pupils · 2026-27
£17,625 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
| Fee | Amount | For | Year | Includes tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Full boarding fees per term, 2026/27, inclusive of VATFull boarding | £21,076 per termsource | All pupils | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Flexi boarding fees per term, 2026/27, inclusive of VATFlexible boarding | £17,625 per termsource | All pupils | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| TuitionDay fees per term, 2026/27, inclusive of VATDay pupils | £11,621 per termsource | All pupils | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Not confirmed |
“Includes tuition: No” means the figure is a boarding charge on top of tuition. Day-pupil figures are shown for reference only and are never used as a boarding price. Additional costs not listed here may apply; always confirm with the school.
Scholarships and financial assistance
No scholarships or financial assistance are confirmed here. That does not mean none exist: ask the school.
Inspection reports
Independent Schools Inspectorate (ISI)
Outcome as published: Downe House was found to have met all required standards (school wording; no overall grade is given under the new ISI framework).
Read the report
Accreditation, registration and membership
No accreditation, registration or membership is recorded for this school in our research yet.
How to read this page
Every fact links to the page it was read from. “Not confirmed” means we could not find it on an official page; it does not mean the school does not offer it. Research checked describes our own review of official sources and is not an endorsement.
Sources (reviewed 17 October 2026)