
Uppingham School
A co-educational independent day and boarding school in Uppingham, Rutland, where most pupils are full boarders from age 13 and a Lower School for Years 7 and 8 offers day and flexi-boarding places.
- Research checked

At a glance
- School type
- Independent · Private
- Official website
- uppingham.co.uk
Address: High Street West, Uppingham, Rutland, LE15 9QD
Academic
- Ages taught
- Lower School (Years 7 and 8), Fourth Form (Year 9), Lower Fifth (Year 10), Sixth Form (Year 12) (ages 11 and over)source
- School admits
- Co-educationalsource
- Day places
- Yessource
- Curriculum
- Not confirmed
- Qualifications
- Not confirmed
- Teaching languages
- ENsource
- Learning support
- Not confirmed
- English-language support
- Not confirmed
- Size
- Not confirmed
Boarding
Full boarding
Pupils live at school during term, including weekends.
Flexible boarding
Pupils can board on some nights or for part of the week; the school sets the pattern.
Admissions
- Entry points
- Pupils join at four key entry points: the Lower School (Year 7 and 8), Fourth Form (Year 9), Lower Fifth (Year 10) and Sixth Form (Year 12).source
- Application process
- Prospective pupils may be registered for admission at any age, and the process is completed online.source
- Assessments and interviews
- For entry into Year 7 or 8, the assessment consists of an online computerised test in verbal reasoning, non-verbal reasoning, Maths and English, plus a short interview with a member of staff.source
- Documents
- Not confirmed
- Language requirements
- Not confirmed
- Deadlines
- Not confirmed
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
- Guardianship
- Not confirmed
Fees
Boarding total per billing period
The school publishes these per term (or similar) and does not say how many periods make a year, so we show the per-period total and calculate no annual figure. Original currency; no conversion.
Flexible boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Lower School (Years 7 and 8)
£9,768 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Flexible boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Lower School (Years 7 and 8)
£11,934 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Boarding (pattern not named) · All pupils · 2026-27
£20,172 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
| Fee | Amount | For | Year | Includes tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Boarding, termly total payable including VAT | £20,172 per termsource | All pupils | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| TuitionDay, termly total payable including VATDay pupils | £11,814 per termsource | All pupils | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Flexi-boarding (1 night), Lower School (Years 7 and 8), termly total payable including VATFlexible boarding | £9,768 per termsource | All pupilsLower School (Years 7 and 8) | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Flexi-boarding (4 nights), Lower School (Years 7 and 8), termly total payable including VATFlexible boarding | £11,934 per termsource | All pupilsLower School (Years 7 and 8) | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Registration feeRegistration Fee (inclusive of VAT) | £250 one-offsource | All pupils | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Not confirmed |
| DepositAcceptance Deposit | £1,500 one-offsource | All pupils | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Not confirmed |
| DepositOverseas Deposit, pupils resident outside the United Kingdom | £20,172 one-offsource | International pupils | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Not confirmed |
“Includes tuition: No” means the figure is a boarding charge on top of tuition. Day-pupil figures are shown for reference only and are never used as a boarding price. Additional costs not listed here may apply; always confirm with the school.
Scholarships and financial assistance
Means-tested financial assistanceMeans Tested Fee Assistancesource
Families unable to afford a place may be eligible for means-tested fee assistance; applications start by requesting a Blue Form from the Director of Admissions.
Inspection reports
Independent Schools Inspectorate (ISI), 15 October 2024
Outcome as published: Standards relating to leadership and management, and governance are not all met. Standards relating to the quality of education, training and recreation are met. Standards relating to pupils’ physical and mental health and emotional wellbeing are not all met. Standards relating to pupils’ social and economic education and contribution to society are met. Standards relating to safeguarding are not all met.
Read the reportIndependent Schools Inspectorate (ISI) - progress monitoring and material change inspection, 22 May 2025
Outcome as published: The school meets all the relevant Standards that were considered during this inspection.
Read the report
Accreditation, registration and membership
The inspectorate that reviews the school.
- source
Inspection regimeIndependent Schools Inspectorate
Confirmed on the authority or association record
Joining an association. Membership is not accreditation and is not an endorsement of quality or safety.
- source
MembershipBoarding Schools’ Association
Confirmed on the authority or association record
Accreditation and membership describe a school’s status with a particular body. Neither is a guarantee of safety, quality or suitability for your child.
How to read this page
Every fact links to the page it was read from. “Not confirmed” means we could not find it on an official page; it does not mean the school does not offer it. Research checked describes our own review of official sources and is not an endorsement.
Sources (reviewed 17 October 2026)