Taunton School
A co-educational day and boarding school in Taunton, Somerset, with boarding for pupils aged 7 to 18 in prep and senior houses.
- Research checked
No licensed photograph of this school is available yet. Photographs are shown only when we hold the rights.
At a glance
- School type
- Independent · Private
- Official website
- tauntonschool.co.uk
Address: Taunton School, Staplegrove Road, Taunton, Somerset, TA2 6AD
Academic
- Ages taught
- Nursery (0-4), Pre-Prep (4-7), Prep (7-13), Senior (13-16), Sixth Form (16-18)source
- School admits
- Co-educationalsource
- Day places
- Yessource
- Curriculum
- Not confirmed
- Qualifications
- Not confirmed
- Teaching languages
- ENsource
- Learning support
- Not confirmed
- English-language support
- Not confirmed
- Size
- Number of school places 1090; number of boarding places 379 (2026)source
Boarding
Full boarding
Pupils live at school during term, including weekends.
Weekly boarding
Pupils board from Monday to Friday and go home at weekends.
Flexible boarding
Pupils can board on some nights or for part of the week; the school sets the pattern.
- Boarding entry
- Boarding pupils can be aged 7 – 18.source
- Boarding is for
- Not confirmed
- Accommodation
- On campussource
- Boarding houses
- Five senior boarding houses and one prep boarding house on a 56-acre campus; pupils are allocated to a house depending on age and gender.source
- Rooms
- Not confirmed
- Weekends and holidays
- No exeat weekends in the senior school; reading weekends instead, when pupils may leave after Friday commitments or stay.source
- Pastoral care
- Not confirmed
- Activities
- Not confirmed
- Facilities
- Not confirmed
Admissions
- Entry points
- Not confirmed
- Application process
- Not confirmed
- Assessments and interviews
- Not confirmed
- Documents
- Not confirmed
- Language requirements
- Not confirmed
- Deadlines
- Not confirmed
- International applicants
- Accepted. International boarding pages and an international admissions page are published.source
- Guardianship
- Not confirmed
- Apply
- Not confirmed
Fees
Boarding total per billing period
The school publishes these per term (or similar) and does not say how many periods make a year, so we show the per-period total and calculate no annual figure. Original currency; no conversion.
Full boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Years 9 to 13
£16,995 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Full boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Years 7 & 8
£13,145 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Weekly boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Years 9 to 13
£15,330 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Weekly boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Years 7 & 8
£11,825 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Weekly boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Years 5 & 6
£8,910 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Flexible boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Years 9 to 13
£13,895 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
| Fee | Amount | For | Year | Includes tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Years 9 to 13, 7 nights (full) boarding, termly fee inclusive of VATFull boarding | £16,995 per termsource | All pupilsYears 9 to 13 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Years 9 to 13, 5 nights (weekly) boarding, termly fee inclusive of VATWeekly boarding | £15,330 per termsource | All pupilsYears 9 to 13 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Years 9 to 13, 3 nights (flexi) boarding, termly fee inclusive of VATFlexible boarding | £13,895 per termsource | All pupilsYears 9 to 13 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| TuitionYears 9 to 13, day, termly fee inclusive of VATDay pupils | £9,785 per termsource | All pupilsYears 9 to 13 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Years 7 & 8, 7 nights boarding (international pupils needing EAL support pay approx. £1,000 more per term), termly fee inclusive of VATFull boarding | £13,145 per termsource | All pupilsYears 7 & 8 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Years 7 & 8, 5 nights (weekly) boarding, termly fee inclusive of VATWeekly boarding | £11,825 per termsource | All pupilsYears 7 & 8 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Years 5 & 6, 5 nights (weekly) boarding, termly fee inclusive of VATWeekly boarding | £8,910 per termsource | All pupilsYears 5 & 6 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
“Includes tuition: No” means the figure is a boarding charge on top of tuition. Day-pupil figures are shown for reference only and are never used as a boarding price. Additional costs not listed here may apply; always confirm with the school.
Scholarships and financial assistance
No scholarships or financial assistance are confirmed here. That does not mean none exist: ask the school.
Inspection reports
No inspection report is recorded for this campus in our research yet.
Accreditation, registration and membership
Joining an association. Membership is not accreditation and is not an endorsement of quality or safety.
- source
MembershipBoarding Schools’ Association
Confirmed on the authority or association record
Accreditation and membership describe a school’s status with a particular body. Neither is a guarantee of safety, quality or suitability for your child.
How to read this page
Every fact links to the page it was read from. “Not confirmed” means we could not find it on an official page; it does not mean the school does not offer it. Research checked describes our own review of official sources and is not an endorsement.
Sources (reviewed 17 October 2026)