Boarding School Atlas

A co-educational day and boarding school for ages 11 to 18 at Stonyhurst near Clitheroe, Lancashire, with separate boys' and girls' boarding houses and occasional, flexible, weekly and full boarding options.

  • Research checked

No licensed photograph of this school is available yet. Photographs are shown only when we hold the rights.

At a glance

School type
Independent · Private
Official website
stonyhurst.ac.uk

Address: Stonyhurst College, Clitheroe, Lancashire, BB7 9PZ

Academic

Ages taught
Years 7 to 13 (ages 11 to 18)source
School admits
Co-educationalsource
Day places
Yessource
Curriculum
Not confirmed
Qualifications
Not confirmed
Teaching languages
ENsource
Learning support
Not confirmed
English-language support
The school has an expert EAL support department and offers places for children with little or no English.source
Size
Not confirmed

Boarding

  • Full boarding

    Pupils live at school during term, including weekends.

  • Weekly boarding

    Pupils board from Monday to Friday and go home at weekends.

  • Flexible boarding

    Pupils can board on some nights or for part of the week; the school sets the pattern.

Boarding entry
Applications are welcomed for entry at all stages from ages 3 to 18, and into all year groups at any time of year. (ages 11 and over)source
Boarding is for
Separate boys’ and girls’ housessource
Accommodation
On campussource
Boarding houses
Boys' and girls' boarding houses for each of Lower Grammar, Grammar, Syntax, Poetry and Rhetoric.source
Rooms
Not confirmed
Weekends and holidays
Weekly boarding: Sunday-Friday nights, home on Saturday night. Full boarding: Monday-Sunday each week, returning home during holidays.source
Pastoral care
Not confirmed
Activities
Not confirmed
Facilities
Not confirmed

Admissions

Entry points
Entry at 11+ and 12+, 13+, 14+, 15+ and Sixth Form; applications accepted into all year groups at any time of year.source
Application process
Not confirmed
Assessments and interviews
Applicants at 11 are asked to sit online entrance assessments in English, Maths and Cognitive Ability; 13+ entry is based on interview, school reports, a handwritten 500 word personal statement and an online entrance assessment.source
Documents
Not confirmed
Language requirements
Not confirmed
Deadlines
Not confirmed
International applicants
Accepted. Entrance assessments can be taken remotely by international pupils under strict invigilation; the school has an EAL support department.source
Guardianship
Not confirmed

Fees

Boarding total per billing period

The school publishes these per term (or similar) and does not say how many periods make a year, so we show the per-period total and calculate no annual figure. Original currency; no conversion.

  • Full boarding · Domestic pupils · 2026-27 · Year 12 to 13

    £17,847 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  • Full boarding · Domestic pupils · 2026-27 · Year 9 to 11

    £17,547 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  • Full boarding · Domestic pupils · 2026-27 · Year 7 to 8

    £12,909 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  • Full boarding · International pupils · 2026-27 · Year 12 to 13

    £19,425 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  • Full boarding · International pupils · 2026-27 · Year 9 to 11

    £19,125 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  • Full boarding · International pupils · 2026-27 · Year 7 to 8

    £14,927 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  • Weekly boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Year 12 to 13

    £15,512 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  • Weekly boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Year 9 to 11

    £15,312 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  • Weekly boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Year 7 to 8

    £11,748 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  • Flexible boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Year 12 to 13

    £13,743 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  • Flexible boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Year 9 to 11

    £13,603 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  • Flexible boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Year 7 to 8

    £10,688 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

Published fees, exactly as the school states them
FeeAmountForYearIncludes tuition
Tuition and boarding (all-in)UK - Full Boarding (Year 12 to 13) (per term, including VAT and lunch)Full boarding£17,847 per termsourceDomestic pupilsYear 12 to 132026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
Tuition and boarding (all-in)UK - Full Boarding (Year 9 to 11) (per term, including VAT and lunch)Full boarding£17,547 per termsourceDomestic pupilsYear 9 to 112026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
Tuition and boarding (all-in)UK - Full Boarding (Year 7 to 8) (per term, including VAT and lunch)Full boarding£12,909 per termsourceDomestic pupilsYear 7 to 82026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
Tuition and boarding (all-in)Rest of the World - Full Boarding (Year 12 to 13) (per term, including VAT and lunch)Full boarding£19,425 per termsourceInternational pupilsYear 12 to 132026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
Tuition and boarding (all-in)Rest of the World - Full Boarding (Year 9 to 11) (per term, including VAT and lunch)Full boarding£19,125 per termsourceInternational pupilsYear 9 to 112026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
Tuition and boarding (all-in)Rest of the World - Full Boarding (Year 7 to 8) (per term, including VAT and lunch)Full boarding£14,927 per termsourceInternational pupilsYear 7 to 82026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
Tuition and boarding (all-in)Weekly Boarding (5/6 nights, return after supper on Sunday) (Year 12 to 13) (per term, including VAT and lunch)Weekly boarding£15,512 per termsourceAll pupilsYear 12 to 132026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
Tuition and boarding (all-in)Weekly Boarding (5/6 nights, return after supper on Sunday) (Year 9 to 11) (per term, including VAT and lunch)Weekly boarding£15,312 per termsourceAll pupilsYear 9 to 112026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
Tuition and boarding (all-in)Weekly Boarding (5/6 nights, return after supper on Sunday) (Year 7 to 8) (per term, including VAT and lunch)Weekly boarding£11,748 per termsourceAll pupilsYear 7 to 82026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
Tuition and boarding (all-in)Flexi-Boarding (3 nights per week) (Year 12 to 13) (per term, including VAT and lunch)Flexible boarding£13,743 per termsourceAll pupilsYear 12 to 132026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
Tuition and boarding (all-in)Flexi-Boarding (3 nights per week) (Year 9 to 11) (per term, including VAT and lunch)Flexible boarding£13,603 per termsourceAll pupilsYear 9 to 112026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
Tuition and boarding (all-in)Flexi-Boarding (3 nights per week) (Year 7 to 8) (per term, including VAT and lunch)Flexible boarding£10,688 per termsourceAll pupilsYear 7 to 82026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
TuitionDay (Year 9 to 11) (per term, including VAT and lunch)Day pupils£10,286 per termsourceAll pupilsYear 9 to 112026-27read 17 October 2026Yes

“Includes tuition: No” means the figure is a boarding charge on top of tuition. Day-pupil figures are shown for reference only and are never used as a boarding price. Additional costs not listed here may apply; always confirm with the school.

Scholarships and financial assistance

No scholarships or financial assistance are confirmed here. That does not mean none exist: ask the school.

Inspection reports

  • Independent Schools Inspectorate (ISI), 14 April 2026

    Outcome as published: Standards relating to leadership and management, and governance are met. Standards relating to the quality of education, training and recreation are met. Standards relating to pupils’ physical and mental health and emotional wellbeing are met. Standards relating to pupils’ social and economic education and contribution to society are met. Standards relating to safeguarding are met.

    Read the report

Accreditation, registration and membership

The inspectorate that reviews the school.

  • Inspection regimeIndependent Schools Inspectorate

    Confirmed on the authority or association record

    source

Joining an association. Membership is not accreditation and is not an endorsement of quality or safety.

  • MembershipBoarding Schools’ Association

    Confirmed on the authority or association record

    source

Accreditation and membership describe a school’s status with a particular body. Neither is a guarantee of safety, quality or suitability for your child.

How to read this page

Every fact links to the page it was read from. “Not confirmed” means we could not find it on an official page; it does not mean the school does not offer it. Research checked describes our own review of official sources and is not an endorsement.