Boarding School Atlas

A co-educational independent school in Shrewsbury, Shropshire, with seven boys' and five girls' houses in which boarders and day pupils live together; entry is at 13+ and later stages.

  • Research checked
Shrewsbury School seen from across the River Severn
Photo: Chris Bayley · CC BY 2.5

At a glance

School type
Independent · Private
Official website
shrewsbury.org.uk

Address: Shrewsbury School, The Schools, Shrewsbury, SY3 7BA

Academic

Ages taught
Third, Fourth & Fifth Forms; Sixth Formsource
School admits
Co-educationalsource
Day places
Yessource
Curriculum
Not confirmed
Qualifications
Not confirmed
Teaching languages
ENsource
Learning support
Not confirmed
English-language support
Not confirmed
Size
Not confirmed

Boarding

  • Full boarding

    Pupils live at school during term, including weekends.

Boarding entry
Not confirmed
Boarding is for
Separate boys’ and girls’ housessource
Accommodation
On campussource
Boarding houses
We have 12 houses: 7 boys' houses with boarding and day boys together, and 5 girls' houses with boarding and day girls together.source
Rooms
Not confirmed
Weekends and holidays
Not confirmed
Pastoral care
Not confirmed
Activities
Not confirmed
Facilities
Not confirmed

Admissions

Entry points
Not confirmed
Application process
Not confirmed
Assessments and interviews
Applicants for Third Form (Year 9) and Fourth Form (Year 10) entry sit Shrewsbury's own entrance assessments in English, Mathematics and, for 13+ applicants, French where it has been studied for more than one year.source
Documents
Not confirmed
Language requirements
Not confirmed
Deadlines
Not confirmed
International applicants
Accepted. Pupils resident outside the UK need a guardian; a CAS number is issued once the signed guardianship agreement is received.source
Guardianship
A local guardian is required. All pupils who reside outside the UK are required to have a guardian who accommodates them in a home environment in the UK during exeats, Coach weekends and other holidays.source

Fees

Boarding total per billing period

The school publishes these per term (or similar) and does not say how many periods make a year, so we show the per-period total and calculate no annual figure. Original currency; no conversion.

  • Full boarding · Specific group (see note) · 2026-27 · Third, Fourth & Fifth Forms

    £19,434 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  • Full boarding · International pupils · 2026-27 · Third, Fourth & Fifth Forms

    £20,500 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  • Full boarding · Specific group (see note) · 2026-27 · Sixth Form

    £20,141 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  • Full boarding · International pupils · 2026-27 · Sixth Form

    £21,217 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

Published fees, exactly as the school states them
FeeAmountForYearIncludes tuition
Tuition and boarding (all-in)Lower School (Third, Fourth & Fifth Forms), Boarding, UK/EEA Resident, gross fee per termFull boarding£19,434 per termsourceSpecific group (see note)Third, Fourth & Fifth Forms2026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
Tuition and boarding (all-in)Lower School (Third, Fourth & Fifth Forms), Boarding, non-UK/EEA resident, gross fee per termFull boarding£20,500 per termsourceInternational pupilsThird, Fourth & Fifth Forms2026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
TuitionLower School (Third, Fourth & Fifth Forms), Day, gross fee per termDay pupils£13,330 per termsourceAll pupilsThird, Fourth & Fifth Forms2026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
Tuition and boarding (all-in)Sixth Form, Boarding, UK/EEA Resident, gross fee per termFull boarding£20,141 per termsourceSpecific group (see note)Sixth Form2026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
Tuition and boarding (all-in)Sixth Form, Boarding, non-UK/EEA resident, gross fee per termFull boarding£21,217 per termsourceInternational pupilsSixth Form2026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
TuitionSixth Form, Day, gross fee per termDay pupils£14,051 per termsourceAll pupilsSixth Form2026-27read 17 October 2026Yes

“Includes tuition: No” means the figure is a boarding charge on top of tuition. Day-pupil figures are shown for reference only and are never used as a boarding price. Additional costs not listed here may apply; always confirm with the school.

Scholarships and financial assistance

  • BursaryMeans-tested bursary programmesource

    Means-tested bursaries awarded after a successful admissions process and a confidential assessment of family finances; scholarships are also offered.

Inspection reports

  • Independent Schools Inspectorate (ISI) - additional inspection, 15 June 2026

    Outcome as published: The school meets all the relevant Standards that were considered during this inspection.

    Read the report
  • Independent Schools Inspectorate (ISI) - routine inspection, 12 March 2024

    Outcome as published: Standards relating to leadership and management, and governance are met. Standards relating to the quality of education, training and recreation are met. Standards relating to pupils’ physical and mental health and emotional wellbeing are met. Standards relating to pupils’ social and economic education and contribution to society are met. Standards relating to safeguarding are met.

    Read the report

Accreditation, registration and membership

The inspectorate that reviews the school.

  • Inspection regimeIndependent Schools Inspectorate

    Confirmed on the authority or association record

    source

Joining an association. Membership is not accreditation and is not an endorsement of quality or safety.

  • MembershipBoarding Schools’ Association

    Confirmed on the authority or association record

    source

Accreditation and membership describe a school’s status with a particular body. Neither is a guarantee of safety, quality or suitability for your child.

How to read this page

Every fact links to the page it was read from. “Not confirmed” means we could not find it on an official page; it does not mean the school does not offer it. Research checked describes our own review of official sources and is not an endorsement.