Sedbergh School
A co-educational independent boarding and day school in Sedbergh, Cumbria, for Years 9 to 13, with six boys' and three girls' boarding houses.
- Research checked
No licensed photograph of this school is available yet. Photographs are shown only when we hold the rights.
At a glance
- School type
- Independent · Private
- Official website
- sedberghschool.org
Address: Sedbergh School, Sedbergh, Cumbria, LA10 5HG
Academic
Boarding
Full boarding
Pupils live at school during term, including weekends.
- Boarding entry
- Not confirmed
- Boarding is for
- Separate boys’ and girls’ housessource
- Accommodation
- On campussource
- Boarding houses
- Sedbergh has nine senior boarding houses, six for boys and three for girls.source
- Rooms
- Not confirmed
- Weekends and holidays
- Because of the full boarding culture, there is no mass exodus at weekends.source
- Pastoral care
- Not confirmed
- Activities
- Not confirmed
- Facilities
- Not confirmed
Admissions
- Entry points
- Not confirmed
- Application process
- Not confirmed
- Assessments and interviews
- Not confirmed
- Documents
- Not confirmed
- Language requirements
- Not confirmed
- Deadlines
- Not confirmed
- International applicants
- Accepted. Overseas fee rates and an international section are published.source
- Guardianship
- Not confirmed
- Apply
- Not confirmed
Fees
Boarding total per billing period
The school publishes these per term (or similar) and does not say how many periods make a year, so we show the per-period total and calculate no annual figure. Original currency; no conversion.
Full boarding · Domestic pupils · 2026-27 · Years 9 to 11
£17,610 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Full boarding · Domestic pupils · 2026-27 · Years 12 to 13
£18,300 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Full boarding · International pupils · 2026-27 · Years 9 to 11
£18,650 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Full boarding · International pupils · 2026-27 · Years 12 to 13
£19,425 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
- Full boarding: A boarding charge is published without a tuition figure for the same year, audience and year groups, so no total is shown.
- Full boarding: A boarding charge is published without a tuition figure for the same year, audience and year groups, so no total is shown.
- Full boarding: A boarding charge is published without a tuition figure for the same year, audience and year groups, so no total is shown.
- Full boarding: A boarding charge is published without a tuition figure for the same year, audience and year groups, so no total is shown.
| Fee | Amount | For | Year | Includes tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)UK Resident Year 9 to 11, Total Fee per term inc. VAT, including lunch and booksFull boarding | £17,610 per termsource | Domestic pupilsYears 9 to 11 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Boarding chargeUK Resident Year 9 to 11, Boarding supplement per term inc. VATFull boarding | £4,880 per termsource | Domestic pupilsYears 9 to 11 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | No |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)UK Resident Year 12 to 13, Total Fee per term inc. VAT, including lunch and booksFull boarding | £18,300 per termsource | Domestic pupilsYears 12 to 13 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Boarding chargeUK Resident Year 12 to 13, Boarding supplement per term inc. VATFull boarding | £5,074 per termsource | Domestic pupilsYears 12 to 13 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | No |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Overseas Year 9 to 11, Total Fee per term inc. VAT, including lunch and booksFull boarding | £18,650 per termsource | International pupilsYears 9 to 11 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Boarding chargeOverseas Year 9 to 11, Boarding supplement per term inc. VATFull boarding | £5,920 per termsource | International pupilsYears 9 to 11 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | No |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Overseas Year 12 to 13, Total Fee per term inc. VAT, including lunch and booksFull boarding | £19,425 per termsource | International pupilsYears 12 to 13 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Boarding chargeOverseas Year 12 to 13, Boarding supplement per term inc. VATFull boarding | £6,199 per termsource | International pupilsYears 12 to 13 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | No |
| Registration feeRegistration fee - all pupils | £240 one-offsource | All pupils | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Not confirmed |
| DepositAcceptance deposit - UK boarder (exempt from VAT) | £2,000 one-offsource | Domestic pupils | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Not confirmed |
| DepositAcceptance deposit - Overseas boarders 3 terms or more (exempt from VAT) | £5,000 one-offsource | International pupils | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Not confirmed |
“Includes tuition: No” means the figure is a boarding charge on top of tuition. Day-pupil figures are shown for reference only and are never used as a boarding price. Additional costs not listed here may apply; always confirm with the school.
Scholarships and financial assistance
No scholarships or financial assistance are confirmed here. That does not mean none exist: ask the school.
Inspection reports
Independent Schools Inspectorate (ISI), 29 April 2025
Outcome as published: Standards relating to leadership and management, and governance are met. Standards relating to the quality of education, training and recreation are met. Standards relating to pupils’ physical and mental health and emotional wellbeing are met. Standards relating to pupils’ social and economic education and contribution to society are met. Standards relating to safeguarding are met.
Read the report
Accreditation, registration and membership
The inspectorate that reviews the school.
- source
Inspection regimeIndependent Schools Inspectorate
Confirmed on the authority or association record
Joining an association. Membership is not accreditation and is not an endorsement of quality or safety.
- source
MembershipBoarding Schools’ Association
Confirmed on the authority or association record
Accreditation and membership describe a school’s status with a particular body. Neither is a guarantee of safety, quality or suitability for your child.
How to read this page
Every fact links to the page it was read from. “Not confirmed” means we could not find it on an official page; it does not mean the school does not offer it. Research checked describes our own review of official sources and is not an endorsement.
Sources (reviewed 17 October 2026)