
Oundle School
A co-educational day and boarding school for ages 11 to 18 in the town of Oundle, Northamptonshire, with most pupils boarding in single-sex senior houses.
- Research checked

At a glance
- School type
- Independent · Private
- Official website
- oundleschool.org.uk
Address: Oundle School, The Great Hall, New Street, Oundle, Northamptonshire, PE8 4GH
Academic
- Ages taught
- First Form (Year 7) to Sixth Form (Year 13) (ages 11 and over)source
- School admits
- Co-educationalsource
- Day places
- Yessource
- Curriculum
- GCSE, A Levelssource
- Qualifications
- GCSE, A Levelsource
- Teaching languages
- ENsource
- Learning support
- Not confirmed
- English-language support
- Not confirmed
- Size
- around 820 boarders and 310 day pupils (2026)source
Boarding
Full boarding
Pupils live at school during term, including weekends.
Flexible boarding
Pupils can board on some nights or for part of the week; the school sets the pattern.
- Boarding entry
- Pupils normally join Oundle at either 11+, 13+ or 16+, as a day or boarding pupil. Occasionally, entry is possible into other year groups, including boarding places at 12+ and 14+. (ages 11 and over)source
- Boarding is for
- Separate boys’ and girls’ housessource
- Accommodation
- On campussource
- Boarding houses
- We have eight senior boys’ boarding Houses and five senior girls’ Houses, each catering for around sixty pupils, as well as Laxton and Sadler, our two senior day Houses.source
- Rooms
- Not confirmed
- Weekends and holidays
- Not confirmed
- Pastoral care
- Not confirmed
- Activities
- Not confirmed
- Facilities
- Not confirmed
Admissions
- Entry points
- Pupils normally join at 11+, 13+ or 16+; occasionally boarding places at 12+ and 14+.source
- Application process
- Not confirmed
- Assessments and interviews
- Not confirmed
- Documents
- Not confirmed
- Language requirements
- Applicants whose native language is not English are asked to provide a UKiset report or equivalent at the earliest stage of application.source
- Deadlines
- Not confirmed
- International applicants
- Accepted. Overseas pupils sit the same entrance papers; a UKiset report is requested for applicants whose native language is not English. Overseas pupils who do not hold a British/Irish passport or settled status need a Child Student visa; overseas candidates are interviewed online during the assessments.source
- Guardianship
- Not confirmed
Fees
Boarding total per billing period
The school publishes these per term (or similar) and does not say how many periods make a year, so we show the per-period total and calculate no annual figure. Original currency; no conversion.
Full boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Third Form - Sixth Form (Years 9 - 13)
£20,385 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Full boarding · International pupils · 2026-27 · Third Form - Sixth Form (Years 9 - 13)
£20,745 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Full boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Second Form (Year 8)
£17,970 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Full boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · First Form (Year 7)
£15,480 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
| Fee | Amount | For | Year | Includes tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Boarding, Third Form - Sixth Form (Years 9 - 13), termly total payable including VATFull boarding | £20,385 per termsource | All pupilsThird Form - Sixth Form (Years 9 - 13) | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Boarding - Overseas, Third Form - Sixth Form (Years 9 - 13), termly total payable including VATFull boarding | £20,745 per termsource | International pupilsThird Form - Sixth Form (Years 9 - 13) | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Boarding, Second Form (Year 8), full or weekly, termly total payable including VATFull boarding | £17,970 per termsource | All pupilsSecond Form (Year 8) | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Boarding, First Form (Year 7), full or weekly, termly total payable including VATFull boarding | £15,480 per termsource | All pupilsFirst Form (Year 7) | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| TuitionDay, Third Form - Sixth Form (Years 9 - 13), termly total payable including VATDay pupils | £13,300 per termsource | All pupilsThird Form - Sixth Form (Years 9 - 13) | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Registration feeRegistration Fee (inc VAT) | £300 one-offsource | All pupils | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Not confirmed |
| DepositAdvance Deposit, pupils resident in the UK (inc VAT) | £3,000 one-offsource | Domestic pupils | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Not confirmed |
| DepositOverseas Deposit (inc VAT) | £20,000 one-offsource | International pupils | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Not confirmed |
“Includes tuition: No” means the figure is a boarding charge on top of tuition. Day-pupil figures are shown for reference only and are never used as a boarding price. Additional costs not listed here may apply; always confirm with the school.
Scholarships and financial assistance
BursaryMeans-tested bursariessource
Bursaries vary in size according to circumstance, from ten percent remission to 100 percent or more.
ScholarshipEntrance Scholarshipssource
Awards at 11+ (Academic, Music, Sport) and entrance scholarships at 13+ and 16+; no fee remission is attached, but they can be underpinned by bursary assistance.
Inspection reports
Independent Schools Inspectorate (ISI), 10 October 2024
Outcome as published: Standards relating to leadership and management, and governance are met. Standards relating to the quality of education, training and recreation are met. Standards relating to pupils’ physical and mental health and emotional wellbeing are met. Standards relating to pupils’ social and economic education and contribution to society are met. Standards relating to safeguarding are met.
Read the report
Accreditation, registration and membership
The inspectorate that reviews the school.
- source
Inspection regimeIndependent Schools Inspectorate
Confirmed on the authority or association record
Joining an association. Membership is not accreditation and is not an endorsement of quality or safety.
- source
MembershipBoarding Schools’ Association
Confirmed on the authority or association record
Accreditation and membership describe a school’s status with a particular body. Neither is a guarantee of safety, quality or suitability for your child.
How to read this page
Every fact links to the page it was read from. “Not confirmed” means we could not find it on an official page; it does not mean the school does not offer it. Research checked describes our own review of official sources and is not an endorsement.