Boarding School Atlas

A co-educational day and boarding school in the market town of Oakham, Rutland, teaching Years 7 to 13 on a 70-acre campus.

  • Research checked
Oakham School at Chapel Close
Photo: Dave Crosby · CC BY-SA 2.0

At a glance

School type
Independent · Private
Official website
oakham.rutland.sch.uk

Address: Oakham School, Chapel Close, Market Place, Oakham, Rutland, LE15 6DT

Academic

Ages taught
Lower School (Years 7-8), Middle School (Years 9-11), Upper School (Sixth Form) (ages 11 and over)source
School admits
Co-educationalsource
Day places
Yessource
Curriculum
International Baccalaureate introduced into the Sixth Form curriculum in 2001source
Qualifications
Not confirmed
Teaching languages
ENsource
Learning support
Not confirmed
English-language support
Students whose first language is not English complete a Password English Language test as part of admissions; Oakham offers a range of EAL support.source
Size
Not confirmed

Boarding

  • Weekly boarding

    Pupils board from Monday to Friday and go home at weekends.

  • Flexible boarding

    Pupils can board on some nights or for part of the week; the school sets the pattern.

Boarding entry
Ages 11 and oversource
Boarding is for
Not confirmed
Accommodation
On campussource
Boarding houses
Not confirmed
Rooms
Not confirmed
Weekends and holidays
Not confirmed
Pastoral care
Not confirmed
Activities
Not confirmed
Facilities
Not confirmed

Admissions

Entry points
Not confirmed
Application process
Not confirmed
Assessments and interviews
Every applicant has an interview, either online or in person; entrance assessments may be completed in person or remotely.source
Documents
Not confirmed
Language requirements
Students whose first language is not English complete a Password English Language test.source
Deadlines
Not confirmed
International applicants
Accepted. International families are asked to start by contacting the Admissions team; students whose first language is not English take a Password English Language test.source
Guardianship
Not confirmed

Fees

Boarding total per billing period

The school publishes these per term (or similar) and does not say how many periods make a year, so we show the per-period total and calculate no annual figure. Original currency; no conversion.

  • Full boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Years 9 - 13

    £19,482 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  • Full boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Years 7 & 8

    £14,796 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  • Weekly boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Years 9 - 13

    £16,992 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  • Weekly boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Years 7 & 8

    £13,830 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

Published fees, exactly as the school states them
FeeAmountForYearIncludes tuition
Tuition and boarding (all-in)Boarding, Middle & Upper School (Years 9 - 13), termly total including VATFull boarding£19,482 per termsourceAll pupilsYears 9 - 132026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
Tuition and boarding (all-in)Weekly Boarding, Middle & Upper School (Years 9 - 13), termly total including VATWeekly boarding£16,992 per termsourceAll pupilsYears 9 - 132026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
Tuition and boarding (all-in)Boarding, Lower School (Years 7 & 8), termly total including VATFull boarding£14,796 per termsourceAll pupilsYears 7 & 82026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
Tuition and boarding (all-in)Weekly Boarding - 6 nights, Lower School (Years 7 & 8), termly total including VATWeekly boarding£13,830 per termsourceAll pupilsYears 7 & 82026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
TuitionDay (includes breakfast, lunch, supper plus morning and evening wraparound care), Years 9 - 13, termly total including VATDay pupils£11,508 per termsourceAll pupilsYears 9 - 132026-27read 17 October 2026Yes

“Includes tuition: No” means the figure is a boarding charge on top of tuition. Day-pupil figures are shown for reference only and are never used as a boarding price. Additional costs not listed here may apply; always confirm with the school.

Scholarships and financial assistance

  • BursaryMeans-tested bursary funding schemesource

    Means-tested financial support for scholarship applicants; no upper limit on bursary value, subject to funds available.

Inspection reports

  • Independent Schools Inspectorate (ISI), 23 January 2024

    Outcome as published: Standards relating to leadership and management, and governance are met. Standards relating to the quality of education, training and recreation are met. Standards relating to pupils’ physical and mental health and emotional wellbeing are met. Standards relating to pupils’ social and economic education and contribution to society are met. Standards relating to safeguarding are met.

    Read the report

Accreditation, registration and membership

The inspectorate that reviews the school.

  • Inspection regimeIndependent Schools Inspectorate

    Confirmed on the authority or association record

    source

Joining an association. Membership is not accreditation and is not an endorsement of quality or safety.

  • MembershipBoarding Schools’ Association

    Confirmed on the authority or association record

    source

Accreditation and membership describe a school’s status with a particular body. Neither is a guarantee of safety, quality or suitability for your child.

How to read this page

Every fact links to the page it was read from. “Not confirmed” means we could not find it on an official page; it does not mean the school does not offer it. Research checked describes our own review of official sources and is not an endorsement.