Boarding School Atlas

An independent day and boarding school in Tavistock, Devon, teaching pupils from Reception to Year 13 with boarding offered from Year 3.

  • Research checked

No licensed photograph of this school is available yet. Photographs are shown only when we hold the rights.

At a glance

School type
Independent · Private
Official website
mountkelly.com

Address: Parkwood Road, Tavistock, Devon, PL19 OHZ

Academic

Ages taught
Reception to Year 13source
School admits
Not confirmed
Day places
Yessource
Curriculum
Not confirmed
Qualifications
Not confirmed
Teaching languages
ENsource
Learning support
Not confirmed
English-language support
Not confirmed
Size
College: over 350 pupils, 200 of whom are boarders (2026)source

Boarding

  • Full boarding

    Pupils live at school during term, including weekends.

  • Weekly boarding

    Pupils board from Monday to Friday and go home at weekends.

Boarding entry
Daily, weekly and full boarding from Year 3.source
Boarding is for
Not confirmed
Accommodation
On campussource
Boarding houses
Courtenay, Marwood, Newton, and School House for boarders and Conway and Russell House for day pupils (College); Tavy House is the Prep boarding house.source
Rooms
Not confirmed
Weekends and holidays
Full boarders: Saturday trips, with a quiet family-style day on Sundays (Prep).source
Pastoral care
Not confirmed
Activities
Not confirmed
Facilities
Not confirmed

Admissions

Entry points
Not confirmed
Application process
Not confirmed
Assessments and interviews
For entry into Year 7 and above, applicants complete entrance assessments, which can be taken at Mount Kelly or overseas under supervision.source
Documents
Not confirmed
Language requirements
Not confirmed
Deadlines
Not confirmed
International applicants
Accepted. Overseas pupils page and an International Boarding fee rate are published.source
Guardianship
A local guardian is required. All pupils whose families live outside the UK must have an appointed guardian, regardless of age.source
Apply
Not confirmed

Fees

Boarding total per billing period

The school publishes these per term (or similar) and does not say how many periods make a year, so we show the per-period total and calculate no annual figure. Original currency; no conversion.

  • Full boarding · Specific group (see note) · 2026-27 · Years 9 – 13

    £16,248 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  • Full boarding · Specific group (see note) · 2026-27 · Years 7 – 8

    £11,220 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  • Weekly boarding · Specific group (see note) · 2026-27 · Years 9 – 13

    £15,192 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  • Weekly boarding · Specific group (see note) · 2026-27 · Years 7 – 8

    £10,608 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

  • Boarding (pattern not named) · International pupils · 2026-27 · Years 9 – 13

    £17,280 per term

    Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.

Published fees, exactly as the school states them
FeeAmountForYearIncludes tuition
Tuition and boarding (all-in)Years 9 – 13 Full Boarding, £ per term inc. VAT (published ex. VAT £13,540)Full boarding£16,248 per termsourceSpecific group (see note)Years 9 – 132026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
Tuition and boarding (all-in)Years 9 – 13 Weekly Boarding, £ per term inc. VAT (published ex. VAT £12,660)Weekly boarding£15,192 per termsourceSpecific group (see note)Years 9 – 132026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
Tuition and boarding (all-in)Years 9 – 13 International Boarding, £ per term inc. VAT (published ex. VAT £14,400)£17,280 per termsourceInternational pupilsYears 9 – 132026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
TuitionYears 9 – 13 Day, £ per term inc. VAT (published ex. VAT £7,570)Day pupils£9,084 per termsourceAll pupilsYears 9 – 132026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
Tuition and boarding (all-in)Years 7 – 8 Full Boarding, £ per term inc. VAT (published ex. VAT £9,350)Full boarding£11,220 per termsourceSpecific group (see note)Years 7 – 82026-27read 17 October 2026Yes
Tuition and boarding (all-in)Years 7 – 8 Weekly Boarding, £ per term inc. VAT (published ex. VAT £8,840)Weekly boarding£10,608 per termsourceSpecific group (see note)Years 7 – 82026-27read 17 October 2026Yes

“Includes tuition: No” means the figure is a boarding charge on top of tuition. Day-pupil figures are shown for reference only and are never used as a boarding price. Additional costs not listed here may apply; always confirm with the school.

Scholarships and financial assistance

No scholarships or financial assistance are confirmed here. That does not mean none exist: ask the school.

Inspection reports

  • Independent Schools Inspectorate (ISI)

    Outcome as published: Inspectors found Mount Kelly to be meeting the required standards in all areas of the inspection. (Report dated November 2024.)

    Read the report

Accreditation, registration and membership

Joining an association. Membership is not accreditation and is not an endorsement of quality or safety.

  • MembershipBoarding Schools’ Association

    Confirmed on the authority or association record

    source

Accreditation and membership describe a school’s status with a particular body. Neither is a guarantee of safety, quality or suitability for your child.

How to read this page

Every fact links to the page it was read from. “Not confirmed” means we could not find it on an official page; it does not mean the school does not offer it. Research checked describes our own review of official sources and is not an endorsement.