
Durham School
The senior school of Durham Cathedral Schools Foundation in Durham, taking day pupils and full, weekly, flexi and occasional boarders from Year 7, with separate boys' and girls' boarding houses.
- Research checked
No licensed photograph of this school is available yet. Photographs are shown only when we hold the rights.
At a glance
- School type
- Independent · Private
- Official website
- dcsf.org.uk
Address: Durham School, Quarryheads Lane, Durham, DH1 4SZ
Academic
Boarding
Full boarding
Pupils live at school during term, including weekends.
Weekly boarding
Pupils board from Monday to Friday and go home at weekends.
Flexible boarding
Pupils can board on some nights or for part of the week; the school sets the pattern.
- Boarding entry
- Ages 11 to 18source
- Boarding is for
- Separate boys’ and girls’ housessource
- Accommodation
- On campussource
- Boarding houses
- There are three boarding Houses situated on or within easy reach of the main campus, with separate Houses allocated for boys and girls.source
- Rooms
- Not confirmed
- Weekends and holidays
- Weekly Boarders may stay for up to six nights per week but do not stay at School on Saturday nights.source
- Pastoral care
- Not confirmed
- Activities
- Not confirmed
- Facilities
- Not confirmed
Admissions
- Entry points
- Not confirmed
- Application process
- Not confirmed
- Assessments and interviews
- Not confirmed
- Documents
- Not confirmed
- Language requirements
- Not confirmed
- Deadlines
- Not confirmed
- International applicants
- Accepted. Overseas day and boarding fee rates and a dedicated international admissions section (IELTS, EAL support, guardians) are published.source
- Guardianship
- Not confirmed
- Apply
- Not confirmed
Fees
Boarding total per billing period
The school publishes these per term (or similar) and does not say how many periods make a year, so we show the per-period total and calculate no annual figure. Original currency; no conversion.
Full boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Senior School 9 – 13
£18,225 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Full boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Senior School 7 – 8
£15,510 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Full boarding · International pupils · 2026-27 · Senior School 9 – 13
£19,601 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Full boarding · International pupils · 2026-27 · Senior School 7 – 8
£16,834 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Weekly boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Senior School 9 – 13
£16,263 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Weekly boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Senior School 7 – 8
£13,342 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Weekly boarding · International pupils · 2026-27 · Senior School 9 – 13
£17,490 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
- Flexible boarding: A boarding charge is published without a tuition figure for the same year, audience and year groups, so no total is shown.
| Fee | Amount | For | Year | Includes tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Full Boarding, Senior School 9 – 13 (termly total, inclusive of VAT)Full boarding | £18,225 per termsource | All pupilsSenior School 9 – 13 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Full Boarding, Senior School 7 – 8 (termly total, inclusive of VAT)Full boarding | £15,510 per termsource | All pupilsSenior School 7 – 8 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Weekly Boarder, Senior School 9 – 13 (termly total, inclusive of VAT)Weekly boarding | £16,263 per termsource | All pupilsSenior School 9 – 13 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Weekly Boarder, Senior School 7 – 8 (termly total, inclusive of VAT)Weekly boarding | £13,342 per termsource | All pupilsSenior School 7 – 8 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Overseas Boarder – Full, Senior School 9 – 13 (termly total, inclusive of VAT)Full boarding | £19,601 per termsource | International pupilsSenior School 9 – 13 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Overseas Boarder – Full, Senior School 7 – 8 (termly total, inclusive of VAT)Full boarding | £16,834 per termsource | International pupilsSenior School 7 – 8 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Overseas Boarder – Weekly, Senior School 9 – 13 (termly total, inclusive of VAT)Weekly boarding | £17,490 per termsource | International pupilsSenior School 9 – 13 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| TuitionDay Pupil, Senior School 9 – 13 (termly total inclusive of VAT, plus compulsory lunch)Day pupils | £8,048 per termsource | All pupilsSenior School 9 – 13 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Compulsory extraLunch charge per term (compulsory for day pupils) | £332 per termsource | All pupils | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Not confirmed |
| Boarding chargeFlexi Boarding (2 nights per week) – two nights for £120 including VAT, booked in advanceFlexible boarding | £120 one-offsource | All pupils | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | No |
| Application feeApplication fee payable when the Application Form is returned | £75 one-offsource | All pupils | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Not confirmed |
“Includes tuition: No” means the figure is a boarding charge on top of tuition. Day-pupil figures are shown for reference only and are never used as a boarding price. Additional costs not listed here may apply; always confirm with the school.
Scholarships and financial assistance
No scholarships or financial assistance are confirmed here. That does not mean none exist: ask the school.
Inspection reports
Independent Schools Inspectorate (ISI), 27 January 2026
Outcome as published: Standards relating to leadership and management, and governance are met. Standards relating to the quality of education, training and recreation are met. Standards relating to pupils’ physical and mental health and emotional wellbeing are met. Standards relating to pupils’ social and economic education and contribution to society are met. Standards relating to safeguarding are met.
Read the report
Accreditation, registration and membership
The inspectorate that reviews the school.
- source
Inspection regimeIndependent Schools Inspectorate
Confirmed on the authority or association record
Joining an association. Membership is not accreditation and is not an endorsement of quality or safety.
- source
MembershipBoarding Schools’ Association
Confirmed on the authority or association record
Accreditation and membership describe a school’s status with a particular body. Neither is a guarantee of safety, quality or suitability for your child.
How to read this page
Every fact links to the page it was read from. “Not confirmed” means we could not find it on an official page; it does not mean the school does not offer it. Research checked describes our own review of official sources and is not an endorsement.
Sources (reviewed 17 October 2026)