
Ampleforth College
A Benedictine Catholic boarding and day school for ages 11 to 18 at Ampleforth near York, North Yorkshire, with separate girls' and boys' houses.
- Research checked
No licensed photograph of this school is available yet. Photographs are shown only when we hold the rights.
At a glance
- School type
- Independent, Faith-based · Private
- Religious affiliation
- Catholic (Benedictine)
- Official website
- ampleforthcollege.org.uk
Address: Ampleforth College, York, YO62 4ER
Academic
Boarding
Full boarding
Pupils live at school during term, including weekends.
Admissions
- Entry points
- Not confirmed
- Application process
- Not confirmed
- Assessments and interviews
- Not confirmed
- Documents
- Not confirmed
- Language requirements
- Not confirmed
- Deadlines
- Not confirmed
- International applicants
- Accepted. An International Students admissions page exists.source
- Guardianship
- Not confirmed
- Apply
- Not confirmed
Fees
Boarding total per billing period
The school publishes these per term (or similar) and does not say how many periods make a year, so we show the per-period total and calculate no annual figure. Original currency; no conversion.
Full boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Y9-13
£19,935 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
Full boarding · All pupils · 2026-27 · Y7-8
£14,228 per term
Basis: Tuition and boarding, published per term; the school does not state how many terms make a year.
| Fee | Amount | For | Year | Includes tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)College Boarding (Y9-13) (termly total inc. VAT)Full boarding | £19,935 per termsource | All pupilsY9-13 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| TuitionCollege Day (Y9-13) (termly total inc. VAT)Day pupils | £13,883 per termsource | All pupilsY9-13 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| Tuition and boarding (all-in)Junior Boarding (Y7-8) (termly total inc. VAT)Full boarding | £14,228 per termsource | All pupilsY7-8 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
| TuitionJunior Day (Y7-8) (termly total inc. VAT)Day pupils | £9,249 per termsource | All pupilsY7-8 | 2026-27read 17 October 2026 | Yes |
“Includes tuition: No” means the figure is a boarding charge on top of tuition. Day-pupil figures are shown for reference only and are never used as a boarding price. Additional costs not listed here may apply; always confirm with the school.
Scholarships and financial assistance
BursaryMeans-tested bursariessource
A limited number of means-tested bursaries for new applicants; Randag Fellows bursary support for Catholic pupils joining in Year 9.
Inspection reports
Independent Schools Inspectorate (ISI), 15 September 2026
Outcome as published: Standards relating to leadership and management, and governance are met. Standards relating to the quality of education, training and recreation are met. Standards relating to pupils’ physical and mental health and emotional wellbeing are met. Standards relating to pupils’ social and economic education and contribution to society are met. Standards relating to safeguarding are met.
Read the report
Accreditation, registration and membership
The inspectorate that reviews the school.
- source
Inspection regimeIndependent Schools Inspectorate
Confirmed on the authority or association record
Joining an association. Membership is not accreditation and is not an endorsement of quality or safety.
- source
MembershipBoarding Schools’ Association
Confirmed on the authority or association record
Accreditation and membership describe a school’s status with a particular body. Neither is a guarantee of safety, quality or suitability for your child.
How to read this page
Every fact links to the page it was read from. “Not confirmed” means we could not find it on an official page; it does not mean the school does not offer it. Research checked describes our own review of official sources and is not an endorsement.
Sources (reviewed 17 October 2026)